“I’m a big fan of the effects of alcohol.”

I spent my last day at the Hunterian in Glasgow researching some Chapman loose ends and then helping to move the spirit collection from the boxes to the shelves in the new store.  Admittedly, most of the heavy lifting had been done.  I assisted with cleaning the jars and organising them on the shelves.  It’s a fine spirit collection.  As with the beetle images, I think these pictures speak for themselves.

I had a fantastic time in Glasgow and am grateful for the opportunity to network, hone my research skills and help reorganise the collection.  Massive thanks to Geoff Hancock and Maggie Riley.

3 thoughts on ““I’m a big fan of the effects of alcohol.”

  1. At a glance, the collection as a whole appears grim and nightmarish but, when you look closely, there’s something quite beautiful about each specimen. Noah’s ark in stasis.

  2. Hello Russell,

    Thanks so much for the link. While I was at the ‘Natural’ (slip of the tongue) History Museum I was envious of all the workers wearing their identification badges nipping quietly in and out of side doors looking important and on a mission! You are one of those people so it’s very exciting to hear from you and get a behind the scenes look! What a job you have. Fascinating. The spirit collection really captivated me. I had planned to do a series of drawings inspired by the jars but I haven’t got round to it yet. I’ll let you know if I do

    Nice to make your acquaintance

    Hannah

Any thoughts?

